Let the hospitality begin!

family lunch table

I’ve been plugging away at the decluttering.

1300 items have been ticked off and removed from the house, via the bin, the op shop, and the post office.

And now, at last, there is space.

On the weekend we hosted 15 family members for a big birthday lunch. For the first time, there was not too much stuff to move out of the living room or kitchen. For the first time, we could actually seat 19 people in the room, using what tables and chairs we had (or could borrow). And for the first time, there was not too much to put back in the living room after they left (even less after I did a bit more decluttering and organising the following day!).

Our eldest daughter has finally started to study upstairs in her room, rather than at the dining table, at least now while she has major exams, so that has helped enormously to keep our surfaces clear, also, in this busy room.

Since then, I’ve been enjoying our open and decluttered space so much. It was the perfect space to recover from a cold in these last few days, and to enjoy the winter sunshine streaming in.

As I sat nursing my cold, I started to read and dream again about offering hospitality. It all seems so much easier with clear space. Space to sit, to cook, to think, to plan, and free time to do it all in. I’d love to offer hospitality to anyone, even if it’s just a cup of tea. Neighbours, friends of friends, kids, strangers, anyone.  That’s my dream. That’s what’s been motivating me to declutter more this time than ever before, and goodness knows I’ve tried before.

Because people are more important than things.

I just wish it hadn’t taken me so long to understand that.

2 thoughts on “Let the hospitality begin!

  1. I love that line ‘because people are more important than things’. It has taken me a long time to understand that as well & its ironic that it takes a long time to declutter all the things you spent so long accumulating and make space 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

